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Minnesota Cottage Food Law
Overview




28A.152 Cottage Food Law

Effective July 1, 2015

Revokes previous cottage food and
pickle bill language

Food licensing exemption

Governed by the Minnesota Department
of Agriculture




Who is a Cottage
Food Producer?

An individual who:

* Manufactures food that does not require time or
temperature controls for safety in his or her private
home, a non-food establishment setting;

« Sells directly to the end consumer without
Inspection or a license; and

* Registers with the Minnesota Department of
Agriculture for sales up to $18,000/year/individual.

Source: Minnesota Cottage Food Producer Registration Training. March 2016.
Minnesota Department of Agriculture.



Examples of Non-potentially Hazardous Food

" Acid or acidified . pried, Dehydrated and
home-canned and  Roasted Items (beans,

home-processed.: herbs, seeds)
— Fruits = Icings, Frostings, Sugar
— Pickles Art
— Vegetables . Jams, Jellies
— Fermented Foods :
| = Preserves, Frult Butters
— Vinegar
» Baked goods
= Candy and 1

Confections




Non Potentially Hazardous Foods List

mfma.org
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Minnesota Cottage Foods Law

MN COTTAGE FOODS LAW HELPFUL COTTAGE FOOD n
It's the law! As of July 1, 2015, you can make cottage foods RESOURCES u
in your home kitchen (baked foods, pickled, canned, jams,
jellies, etc.) without a license BUT you must first take a MFMA Fact Sheet: 2015 MN Cottage Foods E
MDA-approved food safety training and register with the Law An explanation of the new law.

MDA.

E

MN Revenue Fact Sheet 148: Tax Information
on Cottage Foods

A list of the cottage foods that are taxable in
Minnesota.

The Non-Potentially Hazardous Foods List
A list of the foods allowed and not allowed under the

Cottage Foods Exemption. MFMA updates this list as
needed. The last revision: March 15, 2016.

Cottage Foods Producer Registration Form

This form can be filled online or mailed in.

Official YouTube Cottage Foods Training

Click here for further MDA information



Where Can Cottage Foods be Sold?

= Direct sales to consumer







Local Jurisdiction Impact

* Onsite inspection upon request by CFP
« (Can pass zoning restrictions

e Can enforce a local definition for
community event




Training & Registration
Requirements
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Training Requirements  TxaW"s
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Before registering: aared for 29
= Tier |: sales < $5,000/calendar
year/individual

— Complete a registration training course and
exam

= Tier Il: sales over $5,000-$18,000/calendar
year/individual

— Complete a safe food handling course not to
exceed eight hours

— Required every three years



Registration Requirements

Before selling foods, annually thereafter

Register with the Minnesota Department of
Agriculture

www.mda.state.mn.us/cottagefood
Fee $50; waived < $5,000/year



http://www.mda.state.mn.us/cottagefood

® oo

DR, S ®e
® L
* s |
o, | ¢
a t00 | * %
- J e ¢
B "_0 ®
oo s P *®
— »

625 ROBERT STREET NORTH, ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-2538
COTTAGE FOOD PRODUCER REGISTRATION

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

ZEMAN KATHY
9800 155THSTE
NERSTRAND MN 55053

12/31/2015
Explration date

07/02/2015
Effective date

Cottage Food
Producer
Registrations

ZEMAN KATHY

9800 155TH STE
NERSTRAND MN 55053

NERSTRAND MN 55053
20168677

Registration No.

ZEMAN KATHY

9800 155TH ST E
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12/31/2015

071022015

20168677

Expiration date

Effective date
This registration must be posted in a conspicuous place and is not transferable.

Registration Fee

Registration No.
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